Who had control of the Senate in 2010?

Who had control of the Senate in 2010?

Despite the Republican gains, the Democrats retained a majority of the Senate with 51 seats plus the two independents who caucused with them, compared to the 47 Republican seats. As of 2022, this is the last time Republicans won U.S. Senate seats in Illinois and New Hampshire.

Who was the majority in Congress in 2012?

112th United States Congress
Senate Majority Democratic
Senate President Joe Biden (D)
House Majority Republican
House Speaker John Boehner (R)

How many seats in the Senate were up for election?

The 33 seats of Class I of the United States Senate were up for election. Democrats were expected to have 23 seats up for election, including 2 independents who caucus with the Democrats, while Republicans were only expected to have 10 seats up for election. The Democrats ended up retaining majority control of the Senate, picking up two net seats.

What happened in the 2012 Senate election?

On April 22, Ensign announced that he was resigning effective May 3. This is the only senate election in 2012 to vote Republican while Obama carried it on the presidential level. Incumbent Democrat Bob Menendez won re-election to a second full term. This was the first time since 1976 that a candidate for this seat received over 55% of the vote.

Who won the 2012 Florida Senate election?

Incumbent Democrat Ben Nelson retired instead of seeking a third term. Former U.S. senator Bob Kerrey, a Democrat, and state senator Deb Fischer, a Republican, won their respective parties’ primary elections on May 15, 2012. Fischer won the general election with 58% of the vote.

Who won the Massachusetts special Senate election in 2011?

“Republican Brown beats Coakley in special Senate election in Massachusetts”. The Washington Post. Retrieved January 21, 2011. ^ Silver, Nate (December 20, 2012). “For Scott Brown, a Third Round in the Battle Against Partisan Gravity”. Five Thirty Eight.