What order should I read Irvine Welsh?

What order should I read Irvine Welsh?


  1. Trainspotting (1996)
  2. The Acid House (1998)
  3. Irvine Welsh’s Ecstasy (2011)
  4. Filth (2013)
  5. T2 Trainspotting (2017)
  6. Creation Stories (2021)

Is Trainspotting a Welsh?

Trainspotting is the first novel by Scottish writer Irvine Welsh, first published in 1993.

How did Irvine Welsh write Trainspotting?

How did you start writing? Irvine Welsh: I started writing because I wasn’t very good at doing music. I wrote ballads but couldn’t play an instrument properly. I was fed up of getting kicked out of fledgling bands, so I decided to dispense with the music and carry on with the storytelling.

How many Trainspotting books are there?

Order of Trainspotting / Mark Renton Series

# Title Published
1 Trainspotting 1993
2 Porno / T2 Trainspotting 2005
3 Skagboys 2012
4 Dead Men’s Trousers 2018

Do I need to read Skagboys before Trainspotting?

The will read T2: Trainspotting to make the whole set up. I’d suggest you read them in time order, so Skagboys comes first.

Is Irvine Welsh writing a new book?

Irvine Welsh has finished his latest novel after a six month period and he admits he is ‘heading back to the boozer’ now it’s done. The Trainspotting author admitted he had no idea if it was a good or bad read, but was delighted to have finally finished it.

Is Trainspotting book hard to read?

“It’s not an easy read for an American,” says Mr Howard. “The glossary will help, but in any case the book works a good deal like Anthony Burgess’s A Clockwork Orange – if you stick with it for 20 pages you catch the rhythm of the language.”

Is Trainspotting difficult to read?

How many books has Irvine Welsh sold?

In a Waterstones poll of 25,000 people, it was voted the 10th greatest book of the 20th century. It has sold more than 1m copies in the UK alone and is said to be the most shoplifted novel in British publishing history.