What is Bougros?

What is Bougros?

Bougros is one of the seven climats of the Chablis Grand Cru white wine appellation, located at the northwestern edge of the Grand Cru hillside. The wines made from this vineyard are quite rounded and less austere than those from the other Chablis Grand Cru climats.

How many grand crus are in Chablis?

seven Chablis Grand Crus
This can give us amazingly powerful wines for so northerly a growing region. From west to east (or left to right, when looking at a map), the seven Chablis Grand Crus are Bougros, Preuses, Vaudésir, Grenouilles, Valmur, Les Clos, and Blanchot.

Is there a Grand Cru Chablis?

The Chablis Grand Cru appellation comprises seven Climats: Blanchot, Bougros, Les Clos, Grenouilles, Preuses, Valmur, and Vaudésir. It is mainly produced in the village of Chablis, but also at Fyé and Poinchy.

What does Grand Cru Chablis taste like?

What Does Chablis Taste Like? Wines from Chablis are frequently described as having citrus and white flower aromas with dry, lean, light-bodied flavors of citrus, pear, minerality, and salinity. Chablis rarely displays flavors of butter – an indication of oak-aging.

Why is Chablis more expensive?

The two most important aspects affecting this four-tier classification are soil type and vineyard position. The most expensive wines come from sloped south-facing vineyards (meaning more sunlight) containing ancient, Jurassic-era limestone soil.

What is better premier or grand cru?

Grand Cru is the top dog, while the tier just below it is named Premier Cru. A cru in Burgundy designates a high-quality vineyard. Often, they’re split into parcels owned by different wineries or estates.

What makes a Chablis Premier Cru?

Chablis Premier Cru is a designation that applies to wines made from some of Chablis’ top sites — only the Grand Crus rank above these sites. The Chablis Premier Cru appellation was added to the region somewhat recently, in 1967, and today it accounts for only 16 percent of Chablis production.