What are the 5 branches of the aorta?

What are the 5 branches of the aorta?

Abstract. Here, we present a unique case with 5 branches of the aortic arch (AA), namely the right common carotid artery, left common carotid artery, left thyrocervical trunk, left subclavian artery and right subclavian artery (RSA), from right to left.

What are the 4 branches of the aorta?

Considering the significant portion of the body that the aorta spans, it is helpful to break it down into the following four sections:

  • Aortic Root. The aortic root is the portion of the aorta that is attached to the heart.
  • Ascending Aorta.
  • Aortic Arch.
  • Descending Thoracic Aorta.
  • Abdominal Aorta.

What are the 3 branches at the top of the aorta?

The aortic arch has three branches, the brachiocephalic trunk, left common carotid artery, and left subclavian artery. The aortic arch and its branches shown in situ. From its branches, the upper body, arms, head and neck.

What are the two arteries branching off the aorta?

The ascending aorta has two branching vessels, the left and right coronary arteries, which supply blood to the heart muscle.

What are the 3 branches of the aortic arch?

The aortic arch is a continuation of the ascending aorta, being located in the superior mediastinum. Three branches, the brachiocephalic trunk, left common carotid artery and left subclavian artery usually branch from the aortic arch.

What are the first vessels to branch off the aorta?

The first vessels that branch from the ascending aorta are the paired coronary arteries (see (Figure)), which arise from two of the three sinuses in the ascending aorta just superior to the aortic semilunar valve.

What are Atria?

The two atria are thin-walled chambers that receive blood from the veins. The two ventricles are thick-walled chambers that forcefully pump blood out of the heart.