What are the 4 subtypes of breast cancer?

What are the 4 subtypes of breast cancer?

Subtypes include tubular, mucinous, medullary and papillary. Your subtype gives your doctor some clues about your prognosis and how your cells may respond to treatment. The degree of difference between the cancer cells and normal cells.

What is the most common sub type of breast cancer?

The breast cancer subtype HR+/HER2- is the most common subtype with an age-adjusted rate of 88.1 new cases per 100,000 women, based on 2014–2018 cases.

What are the three main clinical subtypes of breast cancer?

Breast cancer has four primary molecular subtypes, defined in large part by hormone receptors (HR) and other types of proteins involved (or not involved) in each cancer: Luminal A or HR+/HER2- (HR-positive/HER2-negative) Luminal B or HR+/HER2+ (HR-positive/HER2-positive) Triple-negative or HR-/HER2- (HR/HER2-negative)

What are the subtypes of metastatic breast cancer?

Subtypes were classified into four categories: hormone receptor (HR+)/human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2−), HR+/HER2+, HR−/HER2+, and triple-negative (HR−/HER2−). Logistic regression was used to assess the association between metastasis location and subtypes.

What is luminal B subtype?

Luminal B-like breast cancer is estrogen-receptor-positive and HER2-positive and has any level of Ki-67 and may be progesterone receptor-positive or progesterone receptor-negative. Luminal B cancers tend to grow faster than luminal A cancers and have a slightly worse prognosis.

Which breast cancer subtype has the best prognosis?

About 40 percent of breast cancers are luminal A tumors [46-48]. Of the 4 major subtypes, luminal A tumors tend to have the best prognosis (chance of survival), with fairly high survival rates and fairly low recurrence rates [46-51].

Which is worse inflammatory breast cancer or triple-negative?

Inflammatory score was significantly higher in triple-negative (TNBC) as well as basal and normal subtypes compared with the other subtypes, which suggest that the detrimental effect of high level of inflammation may be because it includes a more aggressive subtype.

What is Group 1 luminal A?

Luminal A breast cancer is estrogen receptor-positive and progesterone receptor-positive, HER2-negative, and has low levels of the protein Ki-67, which helps control how fast cancer cells grow. Luminal A cancers tend grow more slowly than other cancers, be lower grade, and have a good prognosis.

What are the different types of breast cancer?

There are four main female breast cancer subtypes, including the following in order of prevalence: HR stands for hormone receptor. HR+ means that tumor cells have receptors for the hormones estrogen or progesterone, which can promote the growth of HR+ tumors.

What is the best subtype for breast cancer survival?

The best survival pattern was observed among women with the HR+/Her2- subtype, followed by the HR+/Her2+ subtype and the HR-/Her2+ subtype. The HR-/HER2- subtype, also known as the triple-negative subtype, had the worst survival.

Why is it important to know my breast cancer type and sub-type?

It’s important to know your breast cancer type and sub-type because it can make a difference in the selection of treatments that are recommended. Your cancer can have more than one sub-type. Sub-types can also change when cancer recurs (comes back following a period where it could not be detected) or spreads.

What are the three types of luminal-like breast cancer?

The authors subclassified the luminal-like breast cancer into three subclasses comprising luminal-A, luminal-B and luminal-C and identified luminal-A subgroup of ER-positive tumors as being associated with the best outcome.