What is a Series 65 license?

What is a Series 65 license?

The Series 65 license, known as the Uniform Investment Adviser Law Examination, qualifies individuals to provide investing and general financial advice to clients. Passing the Series 65 exam qualifies individuals as Investment Advisor Representatives (IARs).

What does the Series 65 allow me to do?

The Series 65 enables a financial professional to give clients investment advice and analysis. If the professional wishes to sell packaged investment products or to buy and sell securities they must pass the Series 7.

How do you get a Series 65 license?

How to Become a Registered Representative (Series 65)

  1. Determine the Exam You Need to Take. Before you begin the process of obtaining a securities registration, you will first need to decide which exam(s) you want to take.
  2. Complete an Examination Preparation Course.
  3. Register with FINRA.
  4. Pass a Licensing Exam.

Can I place trades with a series 65?

It’s important to note that having a Series 65 license allows a financial professional to give investment advice. It does not license them to sell packages investment products or to buy and sell securities. To do that, you must get your Series 6 and Series 7 licenses.

How often is Series 65 offered?

How many times can I take the Series 65 examination? The Series 65 test may be taken as many times as needed to pass.

Which security exam is hardest?

The Series 7 exam is by far the longest and most difficult of all the securities exams. It lasts for 225 minutes and covers all aspects of stock and bond quotes and trading; put and call options; spreads and straddles; ethics; margin, and other account holder requirements; and other pertinent regulations.

How much does it cost to take the Series 65 exam?

North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA) Exams

Duration Cost
Series 63 – Uniform Securities Agent State Law Exam 1 hour and 15 minutes $147
Series 65 – Uniform Investment Adviser Law Exam 3 hours $187
Series 66 – Uniform Combined State Law Exam 2 hours and 30 minutes $177

Do you need your Series 7 to be a CFP?

The only securities the Series 7 does not cover are commodities, which require a Series 3 license, as well as real estate and life insurance, both of which have their licenses. Because the Series 7 confers such broad authority, it is by far the most difficult license for a financial advisor to obtain.

What are the requirements for a series 65 license?

Securities and tax regulation

  • Securities markets,investment securities and economic factors
  • Opening and servicing customer accounts
  • Marketing,prospecting and sales presentation
  • Product information about investment company securities and variable contracts
  • Evaluating customers
  • How do I get a series 65 license?

    Name and CRD number

  • Firm’s name,CRD number,New York Stock Exchange number,and billing code
  • Residential history
  • Employment history
  • How to get a series 65 license?

    Your name and FINRA ID#

  • The exam name or identifying series ID ( e.g.,6,63,SIE)
  • A telephone number for you or your employer
  • An email address where they can send the appointment confirmation
  • What can you sell with a series 65 license?

    The Series 65 license is a state-specific securities license that allows individuals to market and sell securities and give financial advice related to securities. The Series 65 is a NASAA exam but is administered by FINRA. Preparing for this exam with a study course is often the first step to getting your Series 65 license.