What countries are in the Balkans?

What countries are in the Balkans?

The Balkans are usually characterized as comprising Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, and Slovenia—with all or part of each of those countries located within the peninsula.

Is Hungary a Balkan country?

The Balkan States are; Croatia, Serbia, Montenegro, Kosovo, Slovenia, Albania, North Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Hungary, Greece and Turkey (the lands are located in European Continent).

What race is Balkan?

A list of Balkan peoples today would include Greeks, Albanians, Macedonians, Bulgarians, Romanians, Serbs, Montenegrins, and Bosnian Muslims. Other smaller groups of people are also found in the Balkans such as the Vlachs and the Roma (Gypsies), neither of whom have a national state anywhere.

Why are the Balkans so violent?

Specifically, they have been caused by the steady degeneration of both the Ottoman and Austro-Hungarian Empires in the nineteenth century and the political consequences of imperial collapse in the twentieth century.

Where is the Balkans?

Balkan Map is as follows. The Balkans or Southeast Europe is a geographical and cultural region in the southeastern part of the European continent, east of the Italian Peninsula, and in the western and north-western part of Anatolia.

Is Italy a Balkan country?

Italy also has land in the Balkan Region, but Italy is not considered a Balkan country because a very small portion of its territory is in the Balkans. 1. Albania 100% of the territory of Albania in Balkans has a surface area of 28,748 square kilometers.

What is the population of the Balkan Peninsula?

Demographics. Population. ca. 55 million (32 million only the peninsula’s part) The Balkans ( / ˈbɔːlkənz / BAWL-kənz ), also known as the Balkan Peninsula, are a geographic area in southeastern Europe with various definitions and meanings, including geopolitical and historical.

How long are the Balkan ranges?

The Balkan Ranges are 600 km long and are headed east and west on the northern edge of the Balkan Peninsula towards the planes of the Danube river. The mountainous mountain constitutes the natural northern boundary of Thrace.